The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by the humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

It is undoubtedly the case that the people worldwide are suffering from the population explosion and it is turning to be the biggest issue ever faced by us. In the essay, I will discuss a few causes for this phenomenon and provide my support to the above statement with examples. One of the prominent reason for the increase in population is a lack of awareness. People see their kids as an investment for their older life. The more they have, the merrier it is. For example, a couple may plan for more than a single child assuming that even if one of them travels outside other one is still there to take care of them. If the first child is a girl, the assumption these parents have it is that their daughter will get married and go to her husband family one day, hence more children are required for their later stages of life. Another important reason is peer pressure. If individuals around us have a large number of kids, they expect us also to have it. They simply assume youngsters are messengers of God and are sent by him. In my view, the biggest challenge in front of human-beings is soaring population. We humans, simply fail to understand the negative effects of this rise. For instance, for more people, we need to have more food to eat, more jobs to work and earn, and more accommodations to live in. This growth in the number of people will break the whole setup and planning any government would have done and will also impact the food chain. If in case, we are not able to provide either one of the above-mentioned requirements, this extra population can resort to crimes disturbing everyone's lives. In conclusion, the population explosion is caused by the lack of awareness and peer pressure to have more kids. In my opinion, it is indeed the biggest challenge faced by us and has the potential to disturb the food chain and increase in crimes around us.