Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a hot debate on whether international affairs should be included in our education. Some feel that it is unnecessary, while others claim they are valuable knowledge for our adolescents. This essay will discuss both sides’ viewpoint and argue that international news should be delivered in classes but with less emphasis as other subjects. People against such proposals as they feel that reading news is time wasting. Global affairs as a new subject, would add more pressure to our kids, who already have a hectic study schedule. Not to mention that they seem unrelated to us. Parents may prefer prioritizing practical skills, for instance, language, mathematics and science, as they are being viewed more important to the personal growth of teenagers and helpful in getting a good job. However, it is beneficial for our younger generations to know what is happening to the world. The society we are living in is more globalized than ever, and things happening far away may have substantial impacts on us. Take the global economy as an example, the plummet of a local stock market would cause domino effects to other economies, causing recessions across the globe. Therefore, students could gain more insights to the civilization we are situated today. As far as I am concerned, international affairs should be delivered in school time, so that our youngsters are more equipped to face our globalized society. But there should not be exams so that students could better focus on the learning of other academic subjects.