IT’S GENERALLY BELIEVED THAT SUCCESS IN FIELDS SUCH AS ART AND SPORT CAN ONLY BE ACHIEVED IF A PERSON HAS NATURAL TALENT. HOWEVER, IT’S SOMETIMES CLAIMED THAT ANY CHILD CAN BE TAUGHT TO BECOME A GOOD SPORTS PERSON OR ARTIST. DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

Some people state that anyone can develop advanced skills in arts and sports. In contrast, others claim that success in these areas is a result of some inborn talent. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and explain why I believe that anyone can learn and develop abilities to its best. Undoubtedly, some humans are born with natural aptitudes for particular activities. There are several examples of children pianists who can perform the most difficult songs from an early age, as they have always known how a piano works. Cases like this are likely to reinforce that some people have natural talents in some areas. Besides, looking at sports, it is not unusual to observe some incredibly young athletes performing near perfection. Serena and Venus Williams placed themselves among the best tennis players of their generation since they were teenagers. Some point out that these sisters possess a congenital advantage, considering their strength and agility. However, some people defend that any skill can be mastered, even without a natural aptitude. For example, art schools are full of students that otherwise would not be able to paint or play a musical instrument. Some of these people accomplish huge feats in their fields after years of study. Another interesting example is sportsmen whose bodies may seem not to fit their sport of choice. Short height basketball players are not rare, even though most of their fellows are tall. They compensate for this apparent disadvantage with refined accuracy or speed, usually trained since their younghood. In conclusion, some people are born with natural abilities, indeed, which are not a definitive statement that others, not privileged by inborn skills, cannot be taught, and trained in those same competencies. In my opinion, if someone dedicates enough time and effort to learn something, he or she can achieve even better results than the so-called naturals.