The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some people that the working duration should be cut short and workers deserve a longer weekend. In my opinion, I agree that people should enjoy a longer vacation as they can balance work and life better and develop a harmonious society. Firstly, compared to the last decade, nowadays citizens have more pressure on work or study due to increasing competition such as job shortages and rising living costs around their daily lives. That is to say, it is harder to balance tedious work and take pleasure in life. Employees who are hard-working should also have enough personal time to spend on family and entertainment activities for taking a rest. For instance, a worker who contributed many efforts to the company deserves an extended holiday as a reward so that he or she could bring more benefits to the organization. Additionally, an organization that doesn't care about its staff will hardly be successful. Secondly, it is a good way to build a harmonious society if the public can feel more happiness in the country. Today, employees must work for 8 hours 5 days and only have 2 days to get relax which is a relatively limited period to spend time with families and enjoy their own life. To make it clear, a person's life should not be just about work as is it only a part of life. For example, a company that is willing to give its employees more rest time or vacation is more likely to retain valuable talent because it is able to meet members' needs for work - life balance. To sum up, although people's opinions vary, I am convinced that extending people's weekend is very beneficial to individuals, companies and society because it can satisfy employees ' need for life balance, help companies retain talent and help create a more harmonious society.