Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that authorities should allocate more funds for street work of art such as statues and paintings in order to create a better environment in cities. I totally disagree with the notion because there are more important issues to address for improving the life of a modern citizen. To begin with, it is true that works of art like colorful paintings on the walls of regular buildings create a nice charming atmosphere of a city. That is why some people believe that the government should spend more money on it. However, it is not a matter of prime necessity. The most important would be the construction of modern road infrastructure and decent water drainage system as well as planting. These issues should be priorities for authorities and should be tackled first. I firmly believe that some reasonable finances might be spent on street work of art but increasing them is not necessary. In my opinion, wasting huge amounts of money on some art works from the city budget might be sometimes considered like a crime. For example, authorities of our city have spent a significant amount of money on a giant squirrel that in fact, spoils the view of the neighborhood and scares children. Meanwhile, there are some other crucial problems in our city that influence the quality of life such as air pollution, lack of green space, narrow streets and traffic jams. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that the government should increase funding for works of art in cities. This is because modern cities have more important issues to deal with than controversial street arts.