Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in.

Some feel governments should invest more in public art in cities to boost the quality of life. Personally, I am in disagreement with this idea because it has little actual importance for the average citizen. On the one hand, public art beautifies a city. A city stripped of all art gives off the dreary appearance of being purely for utilitarian value and the daily rigour of work. In contrast, cities that have invested heavily in public art, such as New York City, offer their residents a beautiful and inspiring home. A child who sees sculptures and murals working home will feel the city is a nicer place to live and workers passing by works of art will have some emotional relief from the demands of the day. This not only builds up the character of urban areas for local inhabitants and instills a sense of pride, but also attracts tourists and professional artists to the city, both of which contribute to a vibrant city. Nonetheless, public art has little quantifiable positive value. Most city -dwellers are too engrossed in their hectic schedules to notice public art. This art, therefore, means nothing to most locals, while also diverting an outsized share of a city ’s budget. There are other more vital areas requiring development such as high-end infrastructure, well-rounded healthcare systems, and modern recreational facilities. Moreover, the public space used to house these works of art cannot be used for practical purposes including critical public facilities like restrooms, bus stops or parks. Those who rely on these other facilities will have more trouble finding them and their quality of life may be somewhat impacted by a preference for art. Despite the aesthetic value of public art, government bodies should focus more on urban issues that truly matter to their constituents. There must be a degree of balance but it should always tip more towards pragmatic concerns.