More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

In this present world, there has been a steep increase in students who are preferring to study at foreign universities and colleges. It comes with advantages and disadvantages, however, in my opinion, the positive outcomes like better practical studies, interaction with foreign students and overseas work experience through placements are some points which make my view correct. Firstly, universities and colleges of countries like USA, Canada, Australia and UK are better equipped and has experienced staff which developing countries do not have. For example, In Indian universities and colleges, the studies are usually theoretical because of inadequate infrastructure and less experienced lecturers. Hence, post completion of studies, students lack basic skills which make it hard for them to find jobs in the market. Whereas in western countries the education system focuses on practical learning, thus, students easily find good jobs at the end of the course. Secondly, students get the chance to interact with various people who belong from different nationalities and this helps them to learn various languages and cultures. This unique experience also helps them in finding jobs very easily as they improve both technical and soft skills. For instance, many students of South Asian countries travel to western countries for further studies, post completion of their studies when they come back to their home country they are equipped with the knowledge of latest technologies and excellent inter-personal skills. Therefore, finding a job becomes a cake piece for them. To conclude, students sacrifice their family life and live independently for a certain period of time when studying abroad, but this struggle later in life gives them fruitful results which are quite worth it. Hence, yes, the outnumbered benefits outweigh the drawbacks and developing nations should learn from these countries to make improvements in their own educational system.