The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that, raising the cost of fuels will help to resolve the world's environmental problems. I strongly disagree with the statement. In this essay, I will explain why. First and foremost, it might sound to be an easy solution to environmental problems; however, this might not be a permanent solution to this problem. Increasing fuel prices can cause lots of problems for a particular country. For example, there are lots of countries around the world that depend on power plants based on fuels which entirely run by this power. A sudden increase in fuel pricing will trigger a chain reaction to rising prices of daily needs, also all the production that runs on electricity, thus creating an economic downfall of a country. Secondly, the environment is not only polluted by fuels but also by many other factors to take into account. For example, there are lots of industrial waste that has a major part causing environmental problems such as water pollution, sound pollution. As an example, many people use chemical fertiliser to grow crops faster, which causes lots of trouble for insects, also damaging the soil itself. Nowadays, people around the world use plastic-made bottles, which later turn into waste and take decades to decay, but still remain the same. In conclusion, environmental problems can not be resolved by only raising fuel costs, it's not a viable solution, but we also need to take other major steps to stop other pollutions that are creating problem to our environment.