Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Globalisation has enabled many people to travel around the world and learn several languages while being based away from their country of origin. In my opinion, I disagree that it entails any form of problems but, in fact has various advantages to it. Firstly, learning a new language in a foreign country facilitates the adaptation to ones new environment with ease. Going to the supermarket or finding a route to a place, for example, is much easier given that there is no communication barrier. Locals are often more approachable to individuals speaking their language. In France, French is commonly used and locals often shy away from tourists that do not speak the language. Secondly, the ability to speak a new language requires skills and thus, one is constantly enaging the mind in this way by trying to pick up a foreign language. This sets the brains in motion and the end goal of being able to communicate fluently is a challenge that excites many individuals. Studies have shown that bi-linguals or tri-linguals have improved memory and have enhanced decision-making skills. Finally, the common goal of communicating without barriers fades away social and practical issues that anyone could find. It breaks down several forms of inhibitions that many carry within themselves due to the inability of translation.