Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development? (approximately 250 words)

It is true that in a globalized world with multilingual societies, some major languages are spoken more popularly rather than others. While this phenomenon can bring many benefits to the advancement of international development, I think the detrimental effects are significant as well. On the one hand, speaking a few common languages has many perks. Firstly, knowledge of languages is one of the crucial measures to facilitate communication and allow people to better understand the cultural and social activities of the society. The use of a smaller number of some popular languages can minimize the borders between people and therefore the quality of the conversation would improve when people can connect and interact with each other, and international connection and the ability to travel to different places would become easier. Secondly, the global economy and trade could easily expand in different countries and develop further thanks to effective communication and perceptive insights between different nations. For instance, Mandarin Chinese is one of the most widely spoken languages in the world with more than one billion native speakers, so being able to speak Mandarin Chinese is the perfect window into its market, making it easier for enterprises to perform various functions and commercial activities in the world's largest economy. On the other hand, there are some negative impacts despite several positive ones. The first drawback is that language is the most powerful instrument for preserving and developing the tangible and intangible heritage of each culture, so the decline in the use of minority languages could threaten the existence of the historical, spiritual, and ecological knowledge of their cultures. For example, many plant names in the Amazon cannot be changed from indigenous languages to others because such change could distort its own original meaning. Another downside is that the overuse of some popular languages could lead others to the verge of extinction. A language is considered endangered when it is no longer inherited between generations or actively used in daily life. Taking Ireland as an illustration, the government for many years has been required Irish students to learn Irish Gaelic and encouraged it to be spoken, but this language is still classified as vulnerable despite those attempts. In conclusion, although the dominance of some major languages could bring many benefits for globalization, the governments and the people of each country and each locality should work in the management of the protection and conservation of the native language as a part of their national heritage.