Food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilizers and better machinery. However, some of the methods used to do this may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this present world, due to a surge in the population numbers, there has been a steep increase in the demand for food. As a result, the agricultural sector to meet the demands of the people at a low price, farmers have started using advanced machinery and more efficient fertilizers for faster growth of plants. I completely agree that these techniques are hazardous and cause significant damage to human health. In this essay, I will highlight a few points to prove my negative view of this. Firstly, the harmful chemical used in modern fertilizers consists of dangerous chemicals which cause severe damage to human health as well as cattle. For example, to increase the growth of plants at a fast pace, farmers use certain pesticides and fertilizers which are made up of zinc, lead and arsenic. The food items which grow on these plants are quite toxic and when consumed by humans it may invite diseases like cancer, allergies, strokes, etc. In addition, cattle after consuming leaves of these plants die due to chemical reactions. Therefore, it's clear that these methods often cause much damage than improvement. Secondly, manpower has been reduced due to the recent invention of the latest hi-tech machines in the farming sector. Thus increasing the unemployment rate of the country. For Instance, machines almost handle all the operations of farming-related activities and there is very minimal human interference. Outcome out it is many people who work in the farms lose their jobs. Hence, these changes are bringing in more struggle for the local communities. To conclude, cost-efficient ways to produce food are the most deadly and cause deeper issues in the employment sector. The health issues and job losses with the introduction of these steps makes me agree that it's not a good idea to implement them because of the far negatives when compared to the positives.