Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Speaking a foreign language is a difficult task, and living in foreign countries could cause serious social and practical problems. Learning a dialect is already a hard task, but there is also a cultural barrier that a foreign resident needs to understand, moreover, the lack of cultural or linguistic knowledge could certainly create misunderstandings and disagreements. This essay will demonstrate why a language barrier could be problematic, and also, why a person shouldn't be too concerned about this situation. When individuals are raised in a country, they usually learn their country languages, costumes and culture. For example, they get used to the local food, the slangs, the commonly used terms, the religions and the behaviour of his society in general. Even though a foreign citizen can learn a new language from many different sources, such as internet, books and schools, he will hardly be able to fully comprehend a foreign society without living there for a couple of years. Furthermore, a person may not be comfortable expressing himself, or if the person does not have previous knowledge about the local, he could end up being disrespectful or rude. However, in many countries today, people are getting more empathic about foreign citizen's difficulties in understanding their speech and culture. For instance, if I ever find someone, or if one friend of mine finds a foreigner living in Brazil, even if we don't understand him completely or if he commit some mistake or something that I understand that is regional, we probably wouldn't be offended at all. Also, committing mistakes is absolutely comprehensible, then, a citizen born and raised in a country should not be judgemental about a clear mistake or misunderstanding. In conclusion, I agree that a foreign vocabulary could cause problems for some individuals living abroad, especially in some heavy religious countries. Although, I support the idea that most people will try to understand the situation and the mistakes would not be harmful at all.