With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Overpopulation has been a debatable and ever-increasing issue worldwide leading to negative impacts in many fields, mainly famine and exponential growth in the denutrition rate. Some scientists believe that Genetically Modified (GM) foods are the best solution to struggle against this situation, while many others argue that it will not solve the hunger that is suffered by millions of people. I partially agree with this statement, and in this essay, I am explaining both points of view. To start with, genetically engineered food has been widely researched in order to improve not only quality but also speed of production and durability. For this reason, different techniques such as DNA and RNA modifications have been proposed. For example, vegetable crops have been changed to avoid seeds inside them and to remain as fresh as possible for many weeks. Besides, these modifications could prevent the growth of microorganisms in the goods. However, hunger is not only a problem related to the quantities of food that are produced, but also there are social difficulties because some people do not have access to buy them. It is one of the main misfortunes across third-world countries where people do not have enough resources to buy and distribution is unequal. For example, in Colombia, many people live under impoverished conditions in which their families cannot be fed due to a lack of stipends. On the other hand, these techniques must be deeply studied because mutations and impacts in our genetic material are unknown. To sum up, many researchers have created cutting-edge techniques to deal with feeding obstacles. Nevertheless, many other factors should be evaluated because humanity has to face social inequality, poverty and scarcity.