Nowadays people prefer to look on Internet for medical advice instead of going to see a doctor. What are the reasons for it? is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to technology advancement over years, people have the ability to research their medical conditions on the internet. According to me, I believe it is a huge drawback because of the false interpretation of the data available online which can lead to serious problems. Furthermore, there are many fake websites that recommend diagnosis which can be very harmful. In this essay, I will discuss both the reasons in detail. First and the foremost reason is that the understanding of one’s illness is necessary. However, people have the habit of surfing the symptoms on the net which generates thousands of results related to one medical condition. People tend to believe these suggestions because it would be cheaper for them than going to the doctors. For instance, people rely on distinct types of home remedies which they believe can cure them. But in fact, these medical remedies can prove to be a toll on someone’s life. Therefore, it is important for us to have full-fledged knowledge about our illness before we trust such sources. Secondly, there is a lot of fake scammers available over the internet whose advice cannot be trusted. There are thousands of forums and articles which are not legitimately true and believing their advice can be tremendously harmful. For example, there are multiple websites where you can find an online doctor and they provide prescriptions. These types of webpages not only give false information but also charge extra money for getting a prescription. Hence, people must be vigilant while looking for treatments online. To sum up, it is better to get a proper diagnosis from doctors who specialize in medical science rather than learning the wrong information from fake websites and articles.