Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic. Globalization has led to the introduction of many new international products into local shops and markets. What do you think are the main advantages and disadvantages of this example of globalization?

Globalization is among one of the key features of the modern way of living. With the help of it, the products these days have no boundaries. Like other things, it also has some merits and demerits as on one hand, it helps to reduce the price and increase diversity among products, on the other,it damages local business owners and affects people's job opportunities To begin with, the main advantages are increasing products' variation and make it affordable. To elaborate, before globalization, the products were very limited and there were very few choices for a consumer before purchasing something, but in recent times, the situation is completely opposite as there are different international and national products for the same thing so that buyers have a lot of option to choose from. Moreover, it also reduces the products' price tag as there are lots of varieties in the market and there is no monopoly for a single company which results in competitive pricing. For example, when we want to buy a mobile and there are hundreds of options to select from so that we can buy according to our own choices and budget. Moving on to the disadvantages, globalization nearly shatters local businesses and that is directly proportional to a decline in job vacancies. To simplify, it becomes very hard to compete for small business owners with their international counterparts with limited funds and end up closing down their organizations. Products which are manufactured in a foreign country, usually very advanced and cheap and they are usually way better than local ones. On top of that, many small scale industries are compelled to shut down as the buyers do not normally buy their products because of high price and as a result, the vacancies are declining and people tend to become jobless more. For instance, last year in my neighbourhood a small spectacle manufacturing outlet was closed because of no sell and it made almost 50 people jobless overnight. To conclude, there are many advantages and disadvantages of globalization but personally, I believe that advantages weigh more. I would suggest that the government should welcome foreign products in the market after carefully reviewing the country's interest and impacts on local businesses.