Housing is a basic necessity for everyone. Therefore, governments must provide free housing to those who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing is considered an essential feature of people’s everyday living. Thus, it is suggested that governing bodies must arrange free accommodation for those who cannot have enough pay to do it on their own. I fully agree with this statement since such a policy will prevent homelessness and its dangerous consequences. However, when implemented, this sort of aid must be given only to eligible citizens. Strict regulations must monitor the allocation of funds. Housing is a growing concern in countries worldwide. While developed states with impressive per capita incomes do not have to cope with housing-related issues that much, developing countries should definitely address those problems with more caution. In Brazil, for instance, more than a million residents do not have a permanent home and a large portion of those people are teenagers and young adults. Out of desperation, these people, some as young as 13-14 years old, often join local gangs so as to find themselves a new home. By doing this, they engage in a life of crime and contribute to growing rates of murder, drug trafficking and other felonies that are already quite common in this Latin-American state. It is interesting to note, however, that Brazil is the same country that bravely invested more than 10 billion dollars to host the 2014 FIFA World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympic Games. Some of this cash could and perhaps should have been spent on housing, education and healthcare instead. While the need for free government-assisted housing is obvious, the way such help is given must be closely monitored. Some people who do, in fact, have money to arrange accommodation on their own could try to apply for free housing. Such cases must be prevented, and criteria for eligibility must be chosen carefully in order to allocate the government budget responsibly. No one wants to see capital being wasted when it could be spent more rationally on other needs. In conclusion, housing is, as a matter of fact, a basic need for every human being. Officials must create well-calculated housing plans and programs to help citizens in need successfully avert homelessness and its effects.