Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this present world, more and more people around the globe lead a competitive lifestyle. The argument that it is important to encourage competition among children is both agreed and disagreed by many. Nevertheless, I believe that children will grow to be more responsible if they are brought-up to cooperate with each other. On the one side, if there is a sense of rivalry between youngsters, they are stimulated to work harder when acquiring knowledge in school. This is largely because they want to score better in examination than their classmates. For example, during a quiz or a test, the children are more likely to study harder and achieve better results as they love the feeling of being praised by their teachers and friends. Thus, they will have more momentum in studying and achieving success. This is why it can be argued that the existence of competitiveness among children is beneficial for them. Encouraging competition among children, on the other side, can cause negative traits such as selfishness, carelessness or even jealousy to emerge. In contrast, by working or learning cooperatively in groups, children are given the opportunity to learn from their contemporaries and improve their own personality. For example, recent empirical studies by Oxford University demonstrated that children who grew in the collaborative surrounding are more likely to successfully integrate into society. Therefore, this makes it clear that children who know how to work in a team would attain success and contribute more to society. In conclusion, the two views regarding the advocating competition from early ages have strong supports. However, I firmly believe that young children should be educated to concentrate on collaboration, instead of competing and ranking, in order to become more knowledgeable and useful individuals who can contribute to society.