Most people in the world need to work in order to lead a decent life or even just to survive. Many workers are motivated by money: if the job pays well, they are willing to do it. However, some people are not concerned with the size of their pay packet: they simply enjoy their job and choose to do it whether they earn a high salary or not. What is more important – salary or job satisfaction? Discuss and give reasons for your answer.

One school of thought holds that earnings play a vital role in choosing employment, while others assert that other factors could equally contribute to this decision. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favour of the latter notion. On the one hand, it is understandable why people are most concerned about salary. First and foremost, having a decent income could help people have a stable life. For example, people could not only easily pay for their basic living costs, such as accommodation, bills, and food, but also have savings that could allow them to buy their own house, and this could greatly improve their quality of life. Furthermore, staff could work more efficiently when they have a high salary level. As a result, individuals who have a decent wage usually have more responsibility and motivation, which makes them put more effort into their tasks and enhance their performance at work. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that various elements affect the candidates choosing a profession. One rationale is that several candidates want to increase their working experience. To be more specific, students who just graduated from universities often apply to firms that offer a diversity of training programs, which could allow them to cultivate their relevant job skills, such as communication, reporting, or problem-solving ability, thereby helping them to become professional employees and developing their career path later. Another justification is that working hours. For instance, having an acceptable and flexible schedule lets them avoid stress and burnout, which provides a suitable work-life balance and enough leisure time for their families. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that a high payment salary is perceived as the first prioritisation for a vacancy, I would contend that applicants should take other facets into account before making this choice.