The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what are the possible solutions?

Nowadays, the way information is circulated is completely changed by the internet, however, there are some problems associated with it that did not exist before. The primary problem is, the increased use of social media and the most viable solution is to spread more awareness about the problems. The main problem is that, people have started using social media extensively. Social media websites like Facebook and Twitter have become very common among the masses, as a result of which, more time is spent on browsing these sites and essential tasks are neglected. Additionally, almost all of them not only have their websites but also mobile apps, due to which they can be accessed from any location. For example, the Times of India reported in one of its articles that, the use of Instagram has increased by 45% after their mobile app was introduced. A long term solution is, awareness campaign by the Governments. There is a need to educate people on the side effects of social media, which can be started by the states of the country. Although this might not show instant results, the more people get the awareness, the better the results would be. Moreover, the initiative can start off with a certain section of society, like college students, who are impacted the most. To illustrate, the Government of Maharashtra started a campaign in 2019 for students, to reduce the use of social media apps from mobile phones during study hours. To conclude, although there are some serious problems that come along with i nternet, this can be resolved by creating more awareness among the masses.