Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped ? Dicuss both views and give your opion.

Opinions are divided on whether improvement in the economy is the only method to put an end to poverty and hunger, or whether such improvement is inflicting damage on the environment and must stop now. I disagree with both sides of the argument for several reasons. Those who believe that economic growth is the key to alleviating the issues of poverty and starvation may have convincing arguments. They may argue that a healthy economy can create more employment possibilities for those who fail to make ends meet, thereby giving them more chances to escape from being poor in the long run. Nevertheless, I think that this is not the case for all countries. Evidence of this could be seen in Vietnam, where, despite a strong growth in recent years, many people have to resort to becoming street beggars and have no access to necessities, including clean water and food. Looking from an environmental perspective, some temporary sacrifices have to be made to the environment to promote the development of the economy. Obviously, in many corners of the world, trees are cut down to make way for industrial zones, resulting in the loss of habitats for wildlife and some natural disasters, such as floods. Despite these impacts, all economic activities can not draw to an end, since this might lead to a global crisis and other knock-on effects. Instead of halting these activities, I believe that we should consider what we can do to minimize the negative effects of economic progress on our living habitats. In conclusion, i take the view that an increase in the economy itself cannot eradicate hunger and poverty. Also, while i acknowledge the environmental degradation resulting from this increase, I disagree that it should come to a stop.