In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why is this so, and what can be done to improve contact between neighbours. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is a general sentiment among individuals that it is better to not have neighbours that they share bonds with as their progenitors did back in the day.In this essay, we first go over the issues in society that have changed attitudes toward communities and have promoted isolationism. Then we try to show how in this millennia we need to promote recreational activities and a communal environment in neighbourhoods which would improve the current status quo in the world. Firstly, in the past, communities were smaller and almost always homogenous which made it easier for people to connect but due to the advent of mass immigration and multi-cultural diversity, there has been an unwanted side-effect of it which has been a form of isolationism which in turn has caused unwanted suspicions and made people ignorant. This has led to the creation of nuclear families that value privacy above all and prefer not to interact with anyone else except family. For example, in big metropolitan cities like New York, there is a growing trend which shows that 75 per cent of all families prefer to not talk to their neighbours because they think it's too much of a hassle and has an increasing level of mistrust. Therefore, these inherent problems that have been seen to lead to a complete loss in entire communities. Secondly, I believe that people should break off their shackles of fear and see that everyone struggles to put food on the table. There needs to be a movement that promotes connection and create an environment that promotes social discourse. Thus there should be a move towards activities like barbeques and block parties which will allow people from the area to interact with each other and remove the perceptions that people have in their minds. This will be difficult initially but if you provide the right incentives like a lottery and free food there is a high probability people will show up. Another idea would be to have meetings and groups for people with a common goal like to promote safety in their streets and establish neighbourhood watch patrols. For example, in Florida, there was a similar movement where people had block parties where they spoke about common issues that they face once a month and this so an increase in the overall crime rating of that area goes down by 20 per cent. Therefore, we need to work together to live a life that is peaceful and happy with a communal mindset we can look out for each other. In conclusion, I believe that people need to work together to build an environment that is safe for their progeny and have a sense of peace because you know that your community has you back. This is something that could change the very tangent of the future when people stop looking with the eyes of ignorance and hatred but with care and mindfulness.We can live in a safer world.