These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Teachers play an important role in a person's life. Nowadays, it has been seen that fewer people choose to teach especially in high schools. This essay will focus on the various reasons for the same and provide its solution. At the outset, it has been observed that many teachers lack the knowledge and understanding of the subject which they require in order to teach. This may be due to the changes that happen every now and then in the curriculum. For instance, a teacher might not have studied a certain topic which is trending now when he was a child, so he is unaware and therefore unable to guide the students. Thus, it is the responsibility of the various bodies that regulate education to update the teachers by organizing different kind of training, coaching and workshops along with adequate resources on that. Another reason is that, most of the pupils in the higher classes do not respect their teachers and thus keep on misbehaving by not listening or doing some other activities while the teacher takes the class. In other words, they keep on disturbing and wasting class time. It had been seen that according to new regulations, teachers are even not allowed to give harsh punishment to the students as was the case in earlier times. Therefore, they tend to be frustrated under such circumstances and try to find a different career option. Thus, the schools should come up with certain strict rules and regulations that can keep a student obedient and some punishments such as expelling or penalizing should come into force. Thirdly, the teachers are generally not happy with the pay structures of the senior schools, as most of the private schools make teacher work hard but doesn't pay them what they deserve. Therefore, it is the need of the hour to revise the salary package of the teachers as they nurture and creates responsible citizens of society. In conclusion, teaching is one of the most important jobs and care should be taken by government and educational bodies to protect their rights.