In today's world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that a larger proportion of individual finance is spent on improving appearance and resisting ageing. Although reasonable factors lead to this trend, I believe it has overall negative consequences. There are several reasons why people spend money on improving their looks. Firstly, it enhances their confidence, especially when conversations or an on-stage activity take place, where they receive a lot of attention. Secondly, the younger generation is easily influenced by circumstances as others are becoming more attractive, and it’s hard to not gain inferiority when comparison occurs, therefore, the tendency would likely be amplified. Finally, the nature of humanity induces us to judge others by their appearance, harshly but crucially. For example, a person who looks ugly will often be concluded as aggressive by stereotypes, thus many would want to change their look to avoid prejudice. However, the trend could have inherent drawbacks. Generally speaking, it is a waste of money because it’s about fulfilling vanity and being an inevitable aftermath of our high priority when it comes to receiving a first impression from others, whereas this could be refined in terms of early education. Besides, discrimination might aggravate due to the high expense of cosmetics and only a few can afford them in the long term, let alone relevant face operations. Most importantly, the emphasis on customizing will permeate teenagers. To be specific, they are easy to be misled by the trend and less time will be allocated to appropriate things such as studying and exercising, as well as gaining less self-esteem when they are unable to engage in these activities. In conclusion, while spending on appearance and anti-ageing may offer short-term benefits, I imagine it could cause a series of societal problems.