“Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?”

A large number of offenders who commit more crime after the first punishment, leave only to re-offend. There are many causes as well as solutions to this problem. The main cause is because of the lack of rehabilitation and jobs that make them re-offend. When prisoners are released, due to the lack of rehabilitation, start to commit crimes again. For example, the offenders are not given the training to develop their existing skills in prison but are made to mix with the other offenders, affecting them psychologically to redo crimes once released. Repetitive charge sheets against a person will only to unemployment, as many do not wish to give them a job. Thus leading to the financial crisis, which in turn more crimes are committed. There are plenty of solutions to this problem but the priority must be given to enhance and develop newer skills in prison  so that once these offenders are released, they can adapt themselves and work. Their mental and physical well being are also to be taken into account to understand them better and offer Individual quick fix. Learning new skills, good morals, educational programmes, training in areas of vocational, social and interpersonal relationships can improve and groom the offender into a better human being. Secondly, employment must be given to these people and they are to be treated equally as the rest of the employees. Thirdly, periodical checking on these criminals can create awareness, to not redo a crime. After prison life, community services can be offered for them to continue and get a sense of belonging, by attending church, social and volunteering groups. In conclusion, the Government must see to it that once these prisoners are released, they are to get jobs for their basic needs, regular monitoring to be done to prevent the increase in crimes.