Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Leaving their hometown to start university life is becoming more common for many students. This essay will argue that although it may make their journey financially more challenging, such a decision is far more advantageous because it leads to independence. As students depart from their usual residence to live in a new place, they often encounter a number of financial difficulties without parental support. Besides tuition fees, other expenses from accommodation, living costs or travel expenditures also add a great part to their constant worries, especially in costly cities like New York or Tokyo. For example, at the start of every new enrollment season at the National University of Tokyo, thousands of international first-year students and those who come from other domestic remote regions are seen to go on an intense apartment hunting with the hope of getting a cheap and convenient shelter. Troublesome as it is, but I believe that undergraduates can easily settle those monetary obstacles by having one or several part-time jobs in their availability. The great advantage of studying in a distant university or college is that it offers young people opportunities to explore and experience new things freely and independently. This is to say that independent life not only allows university -goers to live the lifestyle they long for but also teaches them essential soft skills that are vital to their later life as responsible adults. For instance, at many top universities in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam, it is noticeable that students, who come from other provincial areas, are usually more mature and outperform their city counterparts, who are living with their parents, in social skills and activities that require teamwork and problem-solving skills thanks to their found independence and rapid adaptation. Many of them are also revealed to be more financially stable than their classmates after a time of having a part-time job. Therefore, I am of the opinion that studying far away from home brings students more benefits than drawbacks. In conclusion, despite the fact that starting a university journey at a far place could cause students some financial problems at first, the significant benefit of being independently developed far outweighs its drawbacks.