In the current society, many people are struggling with obesity. What are the main causes of this? What are the effects?

Being overweight is one of the biggest health problems that people struggle with today. And this is due to the lack of knowledge about some healthy habits or sometimes it is related to the increased number of junk foods sold in the market. Because of this, the consequences have reached a significant number of people with mental health problems and chronic diseases at early ages. To begin with, it is impressive the current number of obese people around the world in the present time. Especially, the percentage of children and teenagers, and at some point, this is due to their parents are not well prepared to develop good routines and healthy habits. And this is due to different factors. First, anybody told or taught them how important it was to have good nutrition in order to reach the proper development. Second, they were exposed to unhealthy food and the industry made it look like this product was very healthy. For instance, soda ads, fast food or even tobacco. Thus, this leads to have high rate of obesity very quickly. Consequently, the effect of these harmful behaviours is manifested in the increase of various diseases, such as diabetes mellitus, arterial hypertension, different cardiac problems and serious mental problems, such as depression or anxiety. Moreover, if we take into account the number of people with any disability that we can find related only to movement limitations is tremendous. This is not positive neither for the person nor his environment nor for the economy of a country because wherever it is evaluated, it increases considerably the budget of a country. In conclusion, it is crucial that nations around the world take important approaches and decisions about this topic, because this issue has an important impact on our population. However, in the last decade, authorities have not done enough to bring some solution in the short term.