It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the opinion that reading for enjoyment can promote the development of a person’s ability to imagine things as well their language skills much more than watching television. I totally agree with this perspective because reading can promote creativity and improve lexical resources. In the first place, a fiction book can stimulate our ability to imagine things. The underlying reason for this is that when people read a work of fiction, they would need to use their mind to craft the world and events described in that book. This process would boost their brain development and encourage them to think more creatively. In contrast, when these people watch an episode on television, their imagination is not triggered since television shows already provide a full visual image and our brain does not perform any mental exercise to understand the storyline. For example, I have some friends who are avid readers and possess a higher level of creative thinking than the majority of their peers. In addition, those who frequently read literature can have better lexical resources than their peers who prefer to watch television. This is because the language used in books is relatively advanced and well-written and can therefore expand not only their comprehension but also their speaking abilities in a wide range of social contexts. In contrast, everything that is presented in the television is more likely to be forgotten because it provides only the visual feed that could not be retained for a long period. In conclusion, I totally agree with those who argue that people who read books would have a better imagination and linguistic ability than television watchers because reading books encourages creativity and expands their vocabulary. It is strongly recommended that schools and society encourage people to develop a habit of reading rather than watching too much television.