Drug abuse is becoming a problem in our society. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

Today, illegal drug traffickings widely spread throughout the world and drug abuse becomes the biggest issue in our communities. In this essay, I will highlight the causes of drugs abuse followed by some solutions. First and foremost, some people are now facing the problem of drug addiction because of their own personalities. People who have weak willpower and personality deficiencies have a desire to use drugs for recreational purposes. To fix this problem, the governments should introduce medical treatment counselling sessions and behaviour therapy for addicts to built up their characters. Besides, preventive programmes will be the best solution for drug abuse because prevention is better than cure. Secondly, other causes of drug abuse are family breakdown and poor family environment. People who were raised in poor families and broken families have little education about drug abuse and they rarely notice about the consequences of drugs. To solve this issue, it is necessary to promote public education about narcotic addiction and to give family support to addicts. Moreover, vocational training plays a vital role to prevent drugs abuse by giving opportunities to addicts to built up their life again. Last but not least, relaxation of laws is one of the causes of drug abuse in some nations. Drug trafficking is not effectively prohibited by some governments and it leads to the widespread of drugs throughout the world. To address drug abuse, all countries should take action against drug trafficking by applying punishment oriented approaches, and limit the availability of addictive drugs by tightening up the laws on drug possession. In conclusion, drug abuse will become the biggest threat to our society and we should cooperate with our governments to face this problem by carrying out the above solutions.