Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.?

Urbanization has caused a plethora of problems which are challenging for the government and the masses. However, the excessive population can be handled by regulating stringent laws and making the masses aware of the consequences of such overcrowding in the city dwellings. To begin with, one of the major issues is poor sanitation and health problems in congested areas, which the administration ought to take care of. For instance, in Mumbai, also known to have the biggest slum in the country, the houses are clustered together without any ventilation, the residents are unable to receive fresh air, resulting in breathing issues. Nevertheless, the municipalities can make sure all the housings are constructed at a distant with proper spacing and clean drainage system. Furthermore, another concern which must be undertaken is regarding the increase in prices. The regular commodities which were sold at nominal rates have hiked in the last decade. For example, in Delhi, the rent for a two-bedroom apartment has risen to 60 thousand, which shows that the average earning person can barely afford such a place. Therefore, the local bodies and the regime must regulate the prices as well as impose a penalty to the owners who do not obey, so that no one is deprived of a healthy environment. To conclude, it is quite difficult for the government and the people to overcome the issue of overcrowding in the cities, but this menace can be curbed by interfering in the development of houses and keeping an eye on the price rise.