Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones are disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

With the commencement of the 21st century, there has been a rapid growth in science and technology. Nowadays, more of these inventions, like smartphones and laptops, are changing our society's norm. While some people believe that such advancements are deteriorating face-to-face communication, others think it does not. However, I assert with the former opinion, as there have been significant changes in our way of interaction since mobile phones. In this essay, we shall elaborate on this topic further. In the modern world, mobile phones have tons of features to offer, apart from calling and texting. Moreover, applications for movies, social media, and games have taken up much of people's time and attention; for instance, a recent survey in the United States of America reports that more than half of the population prefer watching movies and television on their smartphones instead of cinemas or multiplexes. As a result, people are so engrossed in the cellular devices that they seldom communicate with others around them. Furthermore, the variety of communication modes available online have made it even more difficult. To illustrate, face emojis, picture-chat, and video calls have made it more intriguing and convenient for people to interact with others. For example, an individual in the current scenario would prefer to make new friends online rather than travelling outside and having a physical interaction. Overall, smartphones are changing the way people communicate. To summarize, cellular devices cut both ways; therefore, although there is a myriad of benefits offered by a smartphone, they alter physical interaction. Nevertheless, such effects can be avoided by educating and encouraging people to have more face-to-face conversations.