Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

A rapid growth in online learning, especially during the pandemic has raised many questions in relation to this type of schooling. Critics argue that online learning is having a negative impact on learners, while others believe that the outcomes of this situation are only positive. This essay will discuss the beneficial effect and drawbacks of virtual learning. On the one hand, it is widely known that digital education has helped the population stay in touch with their courses by using platforms such as Microsoft Teams. According to a study done by Oxford University, 87% of the universities in the UK are planning on teaching on the internet over the next few years, as the students have done exceedingly well in exams. For this reason, educational institutes have decided to teach online, as the students are gaining more knowledge at the comfort of their home and their test results are an excellent example that online learning is having a great impact on learners. On the other hand, there has been growing media coverage which has had an impressive influence on the population's attitude towards digital learning. For example, BBC News reported that due to the increase in the number of hours people are spending on smart devices, many are at risk of developing sleep, and mental health disorders. These results were based on a study done by New Scientist which illustrated that, if an individual is spending more than 240 minutes daily in front on a screen then he/she is at risk of developing anxiety, depression and sleep problems. In addition, the scientists also discovered that by using computers for more than 2 hours a day, one can find themselves at risk of screen-addiction. Thus, a balance in learning online is required. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both arguments relating to studying on PCs have both fruitful and negative results. It is undeniable that in the upcoming future, online learning is only going to grow, so learners should find a balance between using computers for studying and for leisure, as it can lead to many health issues.