Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

In the present world, machines have certainly overtaken the household activities that used to be done by hand in the past. This change has helped tremendously in bringing efficiency and reducing efforts in carrying out the work. However, there is a cost factor that needs to be afforded by the users. There has been a significant improvement in the way domestic work is carried out due to the usage of electronic appliances. The benefits of using machines are multifold as it reduces time and improves efficiency. Earlier, people used to handwash clothes, which required multiple steps like soaking, rinsing, and drying. On the other hand, because of a washing machine, everything can be done automatically, and in less time. Similarly, in the past, people used to have manual grinders to mix the spices used for cooking, which required physical labor. Now, with automatic grinders, a smooth blend of spices can be made, which enhances the cooking experience with minimal effort. Having said that, these home appliances can be expensive to purchase; therefore, poor people may not be able to afford it. Furthermore, usage of these machines may bring additional operating costs like electricity bills and maintenance costs, which may put a burden on the family's expenditure. In conclusion, machines that are used in houses, have made remarkable improvements in people's life. The manpower has been drastically reduced; at the same time the quality of work is increased. However, these appliances can be expensive, which may prevent their usage in the weaker section of the society.