Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

There is a growing concern about massive household waste in recent years. In this essay, I will elaborate on the problems caused and the possible short-term and long-term solutions. Most household rubbish poses a threat to the environment. To begin with, one significant threat may be the pollution caused by non-degradable waste, like plastic packaging poured into soil or water. Air pollution can also occur because of the harmful gases emitted into the atmosphere in case of waste incineration. This proves detrimental to the ecosystem, further causing people to suffer from life-threatening diseases, for example, tuberculosis resulted by absorption of toxic gases produced when waste is burnt. With these problems mentioned above, solutions are listed in the short term and long term. In the short run, environmental regulations can be imposed on garbage sorting. This garbage sorting should be implemented based on categories, such as toxic, recycled, or medical, etc. To meet the goal of this policy, proper guidance and training are needed in the community, like instructions on how to sort garbage shown on notice board. In the long run, scientific research should be encouraged on biodegradable materials, which can hopefully be used in packaging. In addition, government subsidies can be granted to those who make outstanding achievements in recyclable materials. More importantly, education or training of environmental protection must be given to people of all ages to foster their environmental awareness. For example, publicity advertisements can be posted on public transport on the subway, or lectures can be held in schools. In summary, household waste brings so many environmental problems that governments’ regulations on garbage sorting, scientific research on green materials and related promotions are suggested.