Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or bad thing? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Big-name brands rule the fashion industry. There are those who love to adorn trendy items of clothing. In this essay, we try to answer the questions on why people are so obsessed with branded clothing and what are its negative effects on mankind. Firstly,yes, I do believe that there are people that enjoy showing off posh garments to their peers and the world using social media. Brands like Gucci and Louis Vuitton garner a lot of adoration and love from their consumers and these individuals are willing to pay thousands of dollars for the fame and the bragging rights it inherently gives them. For example, on a Youtube channel called Movlogs, Mo always makes sure that he shows his latest sandal or bag that he brought from Dolce and Gabbana which gets him views and makes him famous on the internet. Therefore, expensive garbs are a way for a person to garner validation from society and improve their self-image. Secondly, It is a bad thing to build your confidence and look for praise from others because it is an unhealthy form of validating your self-worth. Putting your faith and being in material objects that fade with time is a negative way to live your life because it builds a false picture of you as an individual which can be easily broken when adversities show their face. For example, if a Rolex watch is compared to a Casio watch which has a cost difference of about hundred thousand dollars the truth is they both serve the same function which is to show time and the consumer could be happy with either of them. Furthermore, there needs to be a healthy understanding of the fact expensive items don't add any value and serve the same purpose as their cheaper counterparts. In conclusion, there needs to be an understanding that craving for fashionable clothing is bad and could promote a fake mindset which could remove any confidence that the soul has and instil the person with an unfair bias to those to don't follow their imperative. Therefore, people need to find better ways to find happiness and look for acceptance in society.