Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

The lack of a good night of sleep is becoming increasingly frequent and serious for many people. Although this issue threatens one’s health and quality of life, its effects can be combated successfully. This essay looks at some of the problems caused by insomnia and suggests some solutions. Not getting enough sleep causes multiple problems. For starters, the most obvious consequence is humour alteration. In the short term, it might seem inoffensive, but, in the long run, it might be devastating on someone’s social life. Would you enjoy being around a person who is, on a daily basis, in a bad mood and complaining about everything? I do not believe so. That explains why, in extreme cases, the lack of sleep might indirectly lead to social exclusion and depression. Another negative aspect of rest deprivation is the fact that it can unbalance our hormones in a way that the immunological system is compromised. Therefore, the risk of getting sick increases considerably. The best first step in order to tackle this issue is by booking a medical appointment. That way, the doctor might be able to identify the root cause of this abnormally. In most cases, the problem is related to either lack of exercise or unbalanced diet although it is also possible to be linked to bad sleeping posture or excessive exposure to blue light right before going to bed. Once the cause of insomnia is determined, it will be easier to develop a plan to fix it. Whether it is including physical workouts into the daily’s routine, or eating more healthier foods. In addition, as a short term solution, sleeping pills might be prescribed as well to help during the process. In conclusion, people need to, not only be aware of the negatives consequences but also need to identify what is the main cause that is limiting the quality of their sleep. Professional help is highly advised and will propose the best solution for each person.