Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative delvelopment ?

Pupils use their phones very often during the day. With the development of technology, usage of devices such as tablets, phones and game consoles is increasing; however, spending hours in a day poses huge risks for children. The major negative effects of overusing phones are losing communication skills and influencing unreal lives. Initially, when children spend their time in the online world, they forget to connect with their real friends. Instead of playing together, pupils prefer to play online games on their mobile phones. In other words, they tend to stay alone which leads to being more introverted; therefore, they are losing their communication ability and they are becoming asocial. To better exemplify, even when pupils meet together, their attentions are on their phones. Recent research conducted by Oxford University shows that especially in developed countries the number of children who wants to stay alone on private days such as birthdays or fests has increased and it is associated with the their relationships with the mobile devices. Moreover, offspring are influenced by stunning social media lives. They lose their reality and they believe that their lives are not good enough. So, they try to imitate the lives which they see on Instagram or TikTok. To better illustrate, they choose their clothes like an influence. In addition, their speeches are affected by streaming or gamers. Even worse, they are humiliated by their friends, if their attitudes are not in line with the popular culture. To sum up, having long hours with smartphones has negative effects on pupils, two of them are lacking connections and feeling jealous of fancy lives.