Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Rational budgeting and diverting funds is considered to be a crucial task for any government, which includes improving public transport. Whilst some experts consider the role of roads as the key economic driver, I strongly advocate the need of up-gradation of technology in railways, as in my opinion, they are the most affordable and efficient mode of transport. Investing in improving tracks and installing lastest developed products on the trains can not only improve on the journey time but also on the overall experience. Particularly in a country like India, trains help a large number of humans reach their destination at an economical cost, this enables even common man access to farthest corners. By investing in upgrading the engines and railway track to electric powered, we can increase the affordability, reducing carbon emission as a result of burning fossil fuels. For example, if the Delhi metro was running on diesel engines instead of electric, the air pollution level in the city, which is already considered bad enough, would have been highly toxic today. Procuring the advanced engines ensured long-term sustainability, though it might have cost high initially. Moreover, with the introduction of bullet trains and hyperloop trains, it is predicted that we can reduce the time taken to traverse between major cities to less than half of what it takes in traditional locomotives, due to this businessmen can then make quick official trips without wasting their precious time. For instance, India recently announced plans to launch bullet trains service between Ahemdabad and Mumbai, two big financial hubs of the region, the journey which currently needs 12 hours approximately will eventually get reduced to 3 hours. In other words, a business trip that required 2 days at least, can now be squeezed into a single day. In conclusion, I opine that, though ensuring holistic development of the country is the government's duty, prioritizing the need to spend money on the railway over the development of road network should be done. This step tends to benefit a larger group of people, ranging from a common man to big business owners.