Nowadays young people lack an understanding of how to manage their finances after they finish high school. Explain why they do not know how to manage money and how this can be changed. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s society, a concerning trend has emerged where many young people lack the necessary knowledge and skills to effectively manage their finances upon completing high school. This financial illiteracy is primarily due to inadequate education as well as the lack of first-hand knowledge. However, satisfactory education related to managing finances and proper parenting can solve it. The reasons why many young adults are incompetent to manage their own money are the lack of both theoretical and practical knowledge. Personal finance is not yet a part of the school curriculum. In consequence, they are deprived of acquiring theoretical knowledge. Likewise, many parents do not share financial responsibilities with their children. As a result, youngsters do not get hands-on experience. It is scientifically proven that someone’s basic character is shaped at an early stage of life and the way someone is educated at home greatly influences the future. So to have a better young generation who knows how to effectively manage money, parents should teach the fundamentals of finance management at home and reveal how hard they work to make money. However, financial education comprises lessons that enable an individual to make informed and effective decisions with all his financial resources. If the schools incorporate financial education into their curriculum, then pupils can learn how to budget, how to use a credit card, how to save, how to avoid debt and so forth. Similarly, parents can teach their children a good lesson by providing real-life experiences. That is to say that parents can share some financial responsibilities with their children. For example, when parents give some pocket money and give them freedom to make their budget on their own. Constantly, they learned two great lessons- they should spend what they can afford and how to avoid the pitfall of unplanned expenditure. To conclude, in the present dire situation, financial education is more essential than ever before. Schools should integrate financial education into the curriculum while parent’s ought to share some financial liabilities with adolescents so that they can gain both practical and theoretical knowledge of money management.