Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this present world, people are travelling across continents more than ever before. Even though this greatly contributes to cultural exchange, certain rules regarding respecting cultural differences should be followed. Moreover, it is an often argued topic whether hosting countries should welcome cultural diversity or tourists are the ones who should respect local traditions and behaviour. Firstly, additional financial inflow is one of the benefits that the host nation could have by welcoming tourists and their cultural heterogeneity. Because of this, local residents should be more flexible towards respecting culture and customs of visitors. For example, Arabs who travel to Europe may find it difficult to adjust to European taste in food because it mainly contains pork which is forbidden for Muslims to eat. Hence, if travellers feel they are welcomed and respected in the new country despite cultural discrepancies they will feel comfortable to visit again. This is why it can be argued that host countries ought to be more welcoming to a variety of cultures. Nevertheless, many argue that visitors should respect the local tradition, culture and lifestyle. This is mainly because, by respecting the local way of life, foreigners are more likely to be welcomed by the local people. For instance, by developing a harmonious relationship with the host nation, newcomers can get the first -hand experience of local customs and traditions. Consequently, experiencing local lifestyle could broaden tourist’s horizons and enrich their knowledge. Thus, this makes it clear that following local habits and customs would be a highly appreciated thing to do while paying a visit to another country. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both views concerning adaption to cultural disparities have their merits. Therefore, a recipient country should always welcome people from diverse cultures and tourists ought to respect local ways of living since this attitude is mutually beneficial.