In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason for this trend. Is it a positive or negative development?

Increasingly more people do not go shopping for only essential needs and treat this action as a hobby to get some fun, consequently making undesired payments. The main root for this movement lays in the advanced advertisement system along with the overindulgence of customers by the oversupply of divers products; however, I believe this tendency shows only advantageous outcomes. To take out the rivalry among product sellers, companies started to develop marketing sphere in order to make potential customers pay attention to buy products that they even do not need. Having blatant advertisements in every corner of the modern society encourages people, who shop regularly, to acquire brand-new products, so by seeing these ads, they unconsciously start willing to buy them. Moreover, in present days, we witness an augmentation of new shopping boutiques that causes broadening of product choice. Thereafter, when one enters a mall, he/she might be confused by the diversity of products and begin to pay for things that have not been planned. The obvious positive side of this trend is that large shopping market constitutes the vast part of GDP in many countries. An increment of trades between sellers and customers contributes to the economy of a country, resulting in prosperity. In the SA, for instance, the shop market makes up roughly two fifth percentage of the national budget. If the market had not been this successful, the US would not have been one of the most affluent counties throughout the globe. To conclude, it is likely that advanced marketing sphere in the present business sector and a large number of different products make customers afford things that might be unnecessary. Furthermore, the movement is positive because it develops economical conditions in countries where shopping is widespread.