Stores should sell local food products and not the imported food products. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the vendors should sell local consumables instead of imported products. Even though the domestic-made is providing an economic benefit, the imported edibles cannot be ignored in the market due to its increasing popularity. Hence, I partially agree with this notion. On the one side, there are several benefits to the local food suppliers when the import is restricted. Firstly, the demand for local goods in the retail, surge at a tremendous rate when imported goods are reduced or completely excluded. For instance, in UAE 50% of the fruits and vegetables are imported from Asian countries. A restriction to import will make the country grown products dominant and also encourages its producers to increase their supply. Additionally, there is an income circulation within the country, bringing economic stability. Therefore, it is very suitable to consider selling local food products over imported ones. On the other side, there is a downside in choosing ingrown food products. To begin with, there is a huge demand for international consumables. People are ready to spend more to get their desired items. As a result, if supermarkets chose not to sell imported consumables, the customers will go online to buy them as it is a very reliable and convenient as supermarkets, instead of using the local substitute. Furthermore, there are certain products which can only be produced under a certain atmospheric condition and with peculiar materials. For example, traditional parmesan cheese cannot be made in every country due to the requirement of certain bacteria for its optimum taste. Hence, it is not always viable to ignore International products. To conclude, although stores should try every possible way to support their local products to get into the market, it is not always feasible to ignore the growing needs of consumers towards foreign consumables. Instead, the government should take other initiatives to aid the local producers than shutting off the imports.