People should be allowed to continue to work for as long as they want to, and not be forced to retire at a particular age such as 60 or 65. Task: Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that individuals should not be obligated to retire at a specific age. Instead, they should be able to work as long as they would like to. In my view, people should have the freedom to choose when they want to stop working as doing so will keep them keep active and will maintain their overall mental health. Firstly, individuals nowadays are living much longer due to advancements in healthcare and become very bored without the daily routine of a job. Since life expectancy in most countries has increased substantially, many people live well into their 90’s. So, if someone retires at 60 years of age, they would spend another thirty years without working. As a result, many retired individuals struggle with loneliness and boredom since they are not in contact with colleagues, nor do they have daily activities and responsibilities. Therefore, even though many people might argue that seniors deserve a break, some individuals might find retirement complete torture. Secondly, many people love their professions and find true happiness in going to work every day. If someone is forced to retire, they will be removed from healthy work environments that stimulate them in a variety of ways. Older staff also tend to train younger ones and impart knowledge and skills, which undoubtedly keeps their brains active. In fact, studies have shown that 80% of seniors that retire and do not stay mentally active start to suffer from dementia and memory loss. In conclusion, since many senior citizens enjoy working due to the relationships built, and the benefits to their cognitive thinking, it should not be compulsory to retire at any specific age. Rather, individuals should have the freedom of choice when it comes to their own retirement.