Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; others think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of university?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the aims of educational institutions. These purposes should be providing practical and professional skills or theoretical knowledge is a controversial issue. I agree with the view that students need to be equipped with job-related skills for the following reasons. First, practising job-related skills at universities can help students keep pace with occupations more quickly. This is because they have already known and performed the basic steps of a certain job, and the only thing that they have to do is apply flexibly to their current professionals. So, the repetitions of professional skills not only motivate productivity but also curtail training time. Moreover, having qualified students through a thorough training curriculum may bring considerable reputations to universities themselves. For example, Harvard, one of the most popular universities in the world, harnesses case studies as a primary pedagogical method which allows learners to obtain knowledge and skills from practical situations. Thanks to this educational measure, Harvard has trained many billionaires, politicians and successful people in varied fields. It makes contributions to social progress and also to assert Harvard's position in the education industry. That is not to say that universities should not pay any attention to pure scientific research. There are, of course, some domains require highly theoretical learning such as math and philosophy. These subjects may create future scientists and scholars, who will make greater dedications to our society. But unfortunately, those people are few. In sum, it is neccessary to give priority to occupational skills to universities's curriculum, which will ensure providing qualified employees to the labor market and then accelerate economic growth. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles universities are undertaking. Only by doing so can educational institutions maintain dynamic and sustainable development.