In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development ?

The globalized world has promoted the number of students with the possibility to study abroad. While in the past students have pursued their degrees in their own countries, today more and more students have the chance to acquire their diplomas by studying in other countries, as well as to improve themselves in many aspects. The benefits of studying in another country can be allied to the growth of an individual. As you are studying in another country, you will face a different culture, which might encourage you to be more open-minded in many social aspects. In fact, 75% of the students opting for studying abroad choose countries such as Canada and Australia, due to the quality of life and support for women and LGBT communities. In addition, when you are in another country you will be able to learn a different language, which might help you to develop other abilities. On the other hand, loneliness and stress are some of the drawbacks of living and studying in another country. When you arrive in a different country to study, you leave behind all your friends and family. For some people, it might prove to be a difficult situation to be alone. A recent study has shown that the number of students that face depression in the first year of university or college is considerably high in foreign students when compared to non-foreign students. Another important issue is the stress related to the pressure of living in a different country and having to study and sometimes work at the same time, considering a new language. In summary, the number of students studying abroad nowadays is largely superior, when compared to the possibilities faced by their parents and grandparents. Despite some negative aspects of such experience, I firmly believe that the benefits of improving yourself and growing are ultimately superior and outweigh the disadvantages.