Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. what are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Walking is having tremendous benefits for human's physical well-being. However, nowadays, there is a significant decrease in the everyday walking that is having a profound adverse impact on public health. There are several factors that contribute to the reduced number of steps each day and to solve this issue, individuals and government should take some essential steps together to encourage people to a walk. There are numerous attributes that are responsible for a considerable fall in people walking compared to earlier olden days when people walk for almost every task. One primary factor responsible for this problem is the materialistic life that people are leading these days. For example, People are using cars and another private vehicle for each and every short journey because it provides comfortness. This trend of keeping their own vehicle is immensely contributing reason for reduced walking concern. Moreover, these days, people are yearning for comfortable work. For instance, a large number of people are choosing office-related jobs that include spending a huge amount of time in front of a screen that development significantly affecting people physical fitness due to decrease walking. In comparison to a few years back when people love to do hard work in the field and walk all day along that keeps them fit and healthy. Furthermore, in this modern time, people are extremely career and money-oriented that kept them absolutely indulge with work. To illustrate, nowadays, people are doing long working hours to earn a good amount of money or to get a promotion. Therefore, they won't get enough time for walking or exercise that ultimately negatively affect their health. To tackle this problem, the government ought to increase various vehicle-related taxes and fuel prices. To an example, transport authorities should increase road tax, parking charges, petrol or diesel costs, congestion charges to dissuade public for vehicle usage at least for short distances. In addition to this, the government body should impose strict traffic rules and rise penalty charges in case of violation of transport related laws. This enforcement will discourage people to use their own transport means. For an illustration, there should be an increase penalty point on driving licence even on the small traffic rules violation. This will encourage people to cover small distances by foot that will result in improved health conditions. Another solution to consider is that private companies should provide some free time to employees in working hours so that they can spend that time for a walk. In conclusion, walking is essential to maintain physical fitness, but the use of private vehicles, office-related long working shifts and busy time schedules are the main reasons for reduced walking. Government ought to enforce tough transport rules and regulations to encourage public for walking instead of using cars and other private vehicles.