“Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.”

Conflict exists wherever human relations are present, even more so in a parent - child relationship. Some view this as a necessary step towards the maturation of a kid, while others feel it can be a hindrance to development. I agree with the prior as I believe conflict brings out novel solutions and possibly growth, and this essay will explain the same. Conflicts are not abnormal, as when two unique perspectives meet, there ought to be some disagreement. According to a group-formation study conducted by Tolman, conflict and disagreements are an integral part of learning in a group. Condensing these findings in a family setting, the existence of conflict between a parent and a child can really help the latter grow. When there is disagreement, brainstorming occurs there to find a viable solution. For instance, if a parent and a child are at loggerheads as to which career path the latter should opt for, the experience of the parent and the inquisitiveness, curiosity and outlook towards the future of the child are pitted against each other. The result is an amalgamation of all these things, which indeed is better than them in their individual sense. It is true that conflict can also create a divide between a family. Severe conflicts can lead to detachments and estrangements within family members. But, when it comes to family, there’s always an innate wish to solve problems and arrive at a solution, which is the true essence of conflict resolution. Conflicts in the teenage years are tumultuous as a child is in the middle of discovering himself, which may not always conform with what the parent feels. Moreover, children often tend to lose their way when a conflict goes out of their control. As a result, they resort to unhealthy indulgences like drug and alcohol use in some cases. Hence, teenage conflict with their parents is necessary for growing up as it makes a child better holistically.