In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and the sense of community is lost. Discuss the causes and give measures to turn it around?

Nowadays, the sense of community is not maintained in urban areas due to the fact that more and more citizens living there do not build relationships with their neighbors. There are reasons behind this phenomenon that require corrective measures. There are a number of reasons why many people in the cities do not get together with others in their neighborhood.The first reason is that they do not have enough time to interact with their neighbors. In fact, many people prefer spending free time completing their work due to their tight working schedule rather than making friends with those living next door. The second reason is that people tend to rely heavily on social networks such as Facebook and Whatsapp to make friends instead of going out to build relationships with people in their local community. This is because they can easily find friends having similar interests from all over the world through these online platforms while it is more difficult to fit in with neighbours who often have different origins and have cultural differences. Nevertheless, there are also a variety of solutions to reverse this trend. The first step could be for individuals, specifically in urban areas, to create additional free time by reducing time on working so that they can have time to associate with neighbours. In order to accomplish this, the support from companies to reduce their employees’ overtime is necessary. Another way to maintain the sense of community is that governments should take responsibility to reduce residents’ dependencies on social media to make friends and encourage them to get to know people in their neighbourhood. For example, this can be accomplished by organizing more community events where neighbours can join, socialize and establish relationships with others, who they can share things in common. In conclusion, the closeness among neighbors in many cities remains not prevalent due to the lack of time and the dependencies on social media. In order to tackle this, the effort from individuals in the community and from governments should be taken into consideration.