Some teachers think that international students exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent decades, thanks to many international exchange programs, which are considered to be beneficial for teenage school students by some educators, more and more students have gained some benefits. However, there are also downsides from these programs that need to be taken into consideration. On the first hand, there is sufficient evidence to infer that providing young students with opportunities to study abroad can be highly beneficial for them. Firstly, chances are exchange programs make it possible for young students to expand their friend circles by meeting new ones from different parts of the world.Not only can they socialize with other foreign exchange students in visiting schools, but also build relationships with local residents in the areas they are arranged to live. Secondly, experiencing living abroad can broaden students’ horizons by enabling them to be exposed to new cultures. This can be a rewarding and memorable experience that enriches the lives of those involving. On the other hand, some may find foreign exchange programs unnecessary due to their drawbacks. The first reason is that studying overseas as an exchange student can be cost-ineffective. In fact, some students may be required to pay a large amount of money in order to be qualified for a short-time course aboard, while similar one with the same quality can be provided at no cost in their own schools. Another disadvantage of students exchange programs is that culture shock can affect those joining who have never left their families. This can be explained by their sole familiarities with things in their own countries, so their unfamiliarities with different customs in a strange country can make life there quite challenging. In conclusion, although joining foreign students exchange programs can be of high benefits, young students might encounter difficulties related to cost and cultural unfamiliarity. Therefore, those who are interested in these should consider their own situation to make the best decision.