Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

As the population grows, it brings in many challenges as well. Many people believe that, increasing the petrol fee is the best solution for solving problems of movement and deterioration. The increasing gas amount can affect various other factors as well, therefore in my opinion, it is not the only solution for curbing challenges. Petrol is an important commodity, since it is a major ingredient in transportation rate. It covers almost 50% of the total logistics expenditure, which means if we are increasing the value of energy, we are also increasing the hiking amount of various commodities that need to be transported. For example, the price tag of a soap bar in August 2019 was Rs. 30, whereas in Aug 2020 it has increased to Rs. 35, because the ammunition charges have also increased drastically in a year as well. So hiking the figure is a proper solution to any given problem? In order to curb the given problems, adequate infrastructure needs to be developed. Cars can use a lternate source of energy like Comprised Natural Gas (CNG), this will bring down carbon emission to a great extent helping in curbing infection. Whereas adequate transportation facilities like bus services or metro services should be provided to the people, as it encourages them to use public transport. To conclude, gas is an important part of living and increasing its prices is not an end of fixing deterioration and travel problems, rather than investing in infrastructure and providing alternative options of material can work as a remedy.