Some people are of the opinion that being highly qualified is the only way to ensure a well-paying job. While others believe that having work experience is the best way to get a well-paying job. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

I believe that most successful organisations are oriented towards hiring individuals with great on-the-job training than employing job seekers with just the stamp of a coveted educational institution on their resume. My essay will firstly illustrate why I support the second opinion and then will further explain why the first opinion does not hold much significance. Brilliant resume holders do not run flourishing businesses, individuals with outstanding practical work experience and mettle gained by years of hard work are the backbone of any company. I am of the opinion that practical knowledge holds more weightage over theoretical knowledge everywhere. Even in MBA schools nowadays the committee prefers the selection of students not just on the basis of a good GMAT score but also gives preference to students who have years of valued experience. Similarly organisations know that hiring the swanky MBA holder will not get the job done well. For example after years of experience in client servicing I possess the tactics of dealing with clients with higher efficiency than my contemporary with the shiny resume. People who believe that only highly qualified people should be hired for senior positions are not exposed to the negatives of hiring people without good training. As an organisation you will have to spend hours training them to do the job which can be easily done by the job-seeker with the qualitative experience. Also organisations that will hire people who only possess the know-how will suffer the consequence of a workplace failure. For example an engineer from the better school may theoretically know how to run a machine but may never have put that knowledge to test. To conclude I strongly believe that companies should invest their time and money on individuals with better work experience as they will get you the desired output.